Anvil Campground Reviews!




Anvil Campground has been here since 1954 for a reason. For 65 years and three generations, we have provided great family memories for countless families. We will always be the right Williamsburg campground choice, because there is nothing that we will not do to make our guests happy. ​

We promise to always take care of you and your family while you are enjoying beautiful Williamsburg, Virginia!  We look forward to hosting you!
August 1, 2019 - www.facebook.com - Rachel D.
-Recommends Anvil Campground
“We had an amazing weekend at Anvil Campground in Williamsburg, VA. Campground is very clean and well kept. Our group had 3 complete lots together and we had a great ‘backyard’ area. Cute store with necessities, pool, kids playground with zip line, bath houses, arcade room, laundry room, and 2 dog parks. Campground was within 15 minutes of everything we wanted to do (Water Country USA, Busch Gardens, GoApe Ziplining, Capt George’s seafood buffet, and any store you need to go to)! The campground is in between a road and a railroad. Our site backed to the road but there was a tall privacy fence and car noise was very minimal. We loved the train coming through. You can see and hear it throughout the day and it was a highlight for all the kids! (Full campground review here)

August 1, 2019 - www.tripadvisor.com - "A pleasure to stay there! Great service and facilities!”
-5 out of 5 stars
“I wish every RV park would be like this. We stopped on our way back from Disney's Fort Wilderness, and we continued receiving Disney-like customer service at Anvil. They have it reasonably priced, provide excellent customer service, and the facilities are immaculate. It was our fourth visit, and they're always consistent.”

July 15, 2019 - www.google.com - Jade V.
-5 out of 5 stars
“This was one of the BEST experiences we've had yet at a campground! You honestly won't find a friendlier or more helpful staff who go out of their way to make sure your stay is wonderful. We stayed on the opposite side of the campground from the train, so though we did hear it, it certainly didn't shake our RV or make our stay unpleasant. If there were only sites next to the train, we'd take one in a minute to be able to stay here! We were only coming through for one night, but now we're seriously considering a longer trip back to Williamsburg, just so we can stay here again!”

August 5, 2019 - www.anvilcampground.com - Anvil Vacation Review – Small RV Site
Nancy H. from Port Murray, New Jersey
“Overall, best part of our vacation was staying at Anvil Campground! Beautiful, clean, most helpful and friendly. Welcoming staff. Thank you! You’re definitely one of the best campground!”
How was our overall customer service: 5++ out of 5
How was our overall cleanliness: 5++ out of 5
How were our amenities: 5++ out of 5
How were your utility hookups: 5++ out of 5
How were the WiFi and cell reception: 5 out of 5
How does Anvil compare to other parks: 5++ out of 5
Did you receive value for our money: 5 out of 5
Would you recommend us to others: 5++ out of 5

July 15, 2019 - www.anvilcampground.com - Anvil Vacation Review – Tent Site
Michael H. From Rising Sun, Maryland
“The staff was far and wide the kindest and most attentive of any campground we’ve been to. We camped as close to the train as possible and to be honest it was actually much quieter than we anticipated and gave the grounds a unique feel. It never woke us up! I absolutely will stay again on our next trip to the area. Thanks guys and gals!”
Was your vacation fun and relaxing: 5 out of 5
How was our overall customer service: 5 out of 5
How was our overall cleanliness: 5 out of 5
How were our amenities: 5 out of 5
How were your utility hookups: 5 out of 5
How were the WiFi and cell reception: 5 out of 5
How does Anvil compare to other parks: 5 out of 5
Did you receive value for our money: 5 out of 5
Would you recommend us to others: 5 out of 5

June 17, 2019 - www.tripadvisor.com - "This is a superb campground!"
-5 out of 5 stars
"A family friendly campground, the entire staff are extremely welcoming, personable, and always greet you with a smile! It is amazing to experience for ourselves, and also watch them assist their campers in ANY way possible, to ensure an enjoyable and relaxing camping experience! They go well above and beyond the rest! The staff are knowledgeable about Williamsburg and other surrounding areas, thus making excellent recommendations for activities during your stay. Their location is conveniently located for visiting the Triangle. If you would like a day to experience nature, one place worth mentioning right down the road is Waller Mill Park. Walk, bike, or drive to the park, and enjoy fishing, boating, hiking 3 trails, disc golf, a picnic, and a dog walk! Anvil's owner, Chris Jump, is a forward thinker, always looking for ways to improve and upgrade. He is interested and listens carefully to his campers' comments and recommendations. Anvil has received numerous awards for several years, including many from Trip Advisor. The most recent was the 2018 National RV Park of the Year from the National RV Park Association! In our eyes, that says it all! We congratulate them on their achievements, running a top notch campground, and for celebrating 65 years! We already have a fall reservation, and one next spring as well! We just keep on camping at Anvil! Give it a try. You will not be disappointed!"

May 29, 2019 - www.google.com - Danielle B.
-5 out of 5 stars
"Very nice campground! We stayed in a tent site. The campground is well maintained. I honestly can’t say I found anything wrong. Staff was extremely friendly! Store was nice and had things we weren’t able to grab while out. Playground was super cute, kids really enjoyed the zip line! Pool was nice and had shaded seating area. Bathrooms were AMAZING! Also had plenty of places to set around campground and rock your worries away!... I also feel the need to say they have the BEST coffee!! Thanks for a great stay, your hard work is definitely noticed! We will see you again soon!! "

May 28, 2019 - www.facebook.com - Lisa R. W.
-Recommends Anvil Campground
"Excellent location, excellent customer service. The owners have put a lot of heart and soul in this family friendly little campground to make it as comfortable and fun as possible! The spaces are level, the hook ups are well lit and new, the whole campsite is very clean,and the WiFi is great. Our favorite when we come to visit Williamsburg and surrounding area! The coffee is really good also!"

May 13, 2019 - www.yelp.com - Stephen E.
-5 out of 5 stars
"This is a delightful little campground, with extraordinarily friendly staff. (Thank you Brandyn!) It is very clean, well organized with the nicest bathrooms and showers I've encountered in a long time. My original intention was to stay just two nights, but I've already amended it to four nights (and probably more). They also offer a Good Sam discount. Yes, there is an Amtrak line nearby, but the trains pass very swiftly without blowing their horn. It has not been a problem for me and the few times the trains do roll by does not reduce the incredible valve that Anvil Campground offers."

April 23, 2019 - www.tripadvisor.com - "Quite the little gem"
-5 out of 5 stars
"This campground is a little gem right in the middle of all things Williamsburg. Check in was very easy and the staff are the absolute friendliest I’ve ever encountered in all of my camping travels. Brandyn was the best. She had answers for all of the typical questions a person not familiar with the area would have. The campground is small and quaint, but packed with all kinds of amenities. Dog park/ areas, pool, a little "beach like"/playground area, arcade, basketball, corn hole, etc.....We had a site that was nice and level with gravel and our little "backyard" area had a concrete pad, fire pit, swing and a round picnic table with umbrella. Really beautiful. I was also pleasantly surprised by all of the landscaping and a beautiful water wheel that greets you when you come into the camp store. This campground is both family and pet friendly. They do offer a shuttle to the attractions…. I have read many reviews about the trains and traffic surrounding this campground. Yes, the train tracks are only separated by a wire fence. You will see and hear the trains multiple times a day. I did not find it to be invasive. But that’s a matter of perspective. Yes, there is traffic that you hear surrounding the campground, but you are in the heart of what Williamsburg has to offer. Close to everything. That’s the sacrifice for being close to it all. It didn’t bother my family any. If there was any con for our family about the campground, it was that the camp store closes daily at 7. Even on weekends. Just have to prepare for that, not a deal breaker! All in all, it was pretty great and we will most definitely be back :)"

November 9, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - "Another wonderful visit at Anvil Campground!"
-5 out of 5 stars
"We have stayed at Anvil twice a year since 2015. I continue to compliment the owner, Chris Jump, and the entire staff. They are ALL truly eager to assist their guests in any way possible, are welcoming, friendly, and hospitable. They connect with their campers, and make excellent suggestions for your time visiting the Williamsburg area. The campground is very clean, well maintained, and has attractive landscaping. The camp store has a nice variety of souvenirs and camping necessities. And they are connected with an onsite mobile rv service who is responsive and reasonably priced! From the playgrounds to the arcade, toddlers to teens will surely be entertained! It is conveniently located in the Triangle area, with a bus stop at the entrance to some attractions, and one block away is Richmond Road, which has an abundance of shops and restaurants. The evaluation to fill out upon check out has a rating of up to 5 as being excellent. We rate them higher than that as they go above and beyond to make the stay top notch! Please stay with them on your journey. We promise you will return!"

July 30, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - "Favorite campground"
-5 out of 5 stars
"This was our 2nd time staying at Anvil in our travel trailer. We LOVE this campground. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful, and great care is taken in upkeep and cleaning of the facilities. We and many others we met there said they are the nicest bathrooms we have ever seen at a campground. The playground is the best that we have ever visited, as it is fenced and has a zip line, and it filled with sand. Our kids spent hours there. There is so much to do nearby. They recommended great restaurants close by, too. There is also a paved running trail right down the road, I felt very safe there. We stayed on the opposite side of the railroad and it didn’t bother us at all. I can’t speak highly enough of Anvil Campground!"

July 6, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - "A very friendly, well run, family owned campground for generations!"
-5 out of 5 stars
"We have been camping at Anvil twice a year for 3 years. Upon arriving you will be greeted with a warm welcome, by a smiling, upbeat, and accommodating staff! They go above and beyond to make your stay enjoyable, personable, and memorable! It's amazing what they have for amenities given how small it is. Enjoy the pool, playgrounds, arcade, nature trail, and more, and they are pet friendly! A bus is available to take you to the local main attractions, stopping at their entrance. Don't hesitate to ask the staff for recommendations in the area. They are very knowledgeable and offer excellent suggestions! Working together, the owner and staff strive to always upgrade, have long range plans, and listen carefully to their campers' recommendations. Take the time to read the many framed articles in the office, citing all the awards they have received over the years! They are a testament to the owner, Chris Jump, and all of his staff! This is by far, the BEST campground we have ever stayed in, and we have been camping for many, many years! We plan to return again this fall!”

July 10, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - "Best campground around"
-5 out of 5 stars
"The staff here is top notch!! We were camping in a travel trailer for the first time. (We have been tent campers) Lots of experience here with help from everyone and it made our trip great. I will be returning and I would recommend this place to everyone. Close to all attractions. The bath house is the cleanest I have ever seen. The playground and pool are very nice. They have a grill you can borrow at your site if you don't have one. They have a great arcade. The dog park is clean. Thank you for making our trip here so wonderful. See you again soon."

August 21, 2018 - www.google.com - Jake O.
-5 out of 5 stars
"Probably the most helpful kind staff you’re going to find. MY cord on my camper shorted out it was hot the wife was worried we were going to have to travel 4 hours back home with 2 small children. I was not too sure what to do. I went to the front desk and asked for some guidance. Within 10 min Raymond came over to my campsite and investigated what he thought was going on. Probably would have been there even sooner but he was on his way home from a long days work. The plug had gone bad. He replaced the plug and we were able to enjoy the rest of our trip trouble free. You just are not going to get that type of help or service at most if any campgrounds. Anvil Campground 100% care's about your camping experience and are there to help you ANY way they can."

July 12, 2018 - www.anvilcampground.com - Anvil Vacation Review
Jamie S. from Walworth, New York
"I appreciated the AMAZING WiFi and cell service as I had work to do and because I didn't run into connection issue ever. I was able to complete it very quickly and enjoy relaxing times afterwards. Well above any other campgrounds/hotels we've stayed at. My son loved the beach park and play area! The VERY modern bathrooms were also a great surprise for a campground...again better than some hotels!"
Was your vacation fun and relaxing: 5 out of 5
How was our overall customer service: 5 out of 5
How was our overall cleanliness: 5 out of 5
How were our amenities: 5 out of 5
How were your utility hookups: 5 out of 5
How were the WiFi and cell reception: 5 out of 5 stars
How does Anvil compare to other parks: 5 out of 5 stars
Did you receive value for our money: 5 out of 5 stars
Would you recommend us to others: 5 out of 5 stars

April 16, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - "Anvil Campground is Top Notch"
-5 out of 5 stars
"We stayed at Anvil for the first time over spring break. We did our research, read the reviews and had even driven thru on a previous trip to Williamsburg. We have nothing but positive things to say. The amenities are first rate, the location is close to everything Williamsburg has to offer and the staff was the best. Met or exceeded all our expectations."

April 16, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - "Once again, Anvil Campground in Williamsburg Va met and exceeded our expectations!"
-5 out of 5 stars
"We visited Anvil Campground last weekend and was greeted by the best weather we've had all month. March wasn't kind but April made up for it by far. We booked online and were given a brand new space. The entire facility has been upgraded and given a new look. Privacy fencing has been added to separate the campground from the road. We noticed new power pedestals and lots of fresh gravel. A level site with a fresh picnic table and fire ring are always welcomed. The public areas were well maintained and the camp store was stocked full of supplies. If you are new to camping in Williamsburg, or "old timers" like us, the location and area will stay with you forever. This was our third visit and sure not to be the last."

July 6, 2017 - www.tripadvisor.com - "The Anvil Experience"
-5 out of 5 stars
"The Anvil Experience is something you do not want to miss if you are ever in the area. This was our first time and we were sold immediately on the family atmosphere and the customer service of the entire staff. You cannot beat that feeling of family when walking onto the quaint grounds or into the office. You ask the staff for anything and they seem excited to help you with whatever they can. The pool was open and felt amazing after a really hot day and the bathrooms were immaculate the entire time we were here. We stayed in the new cabins and they were perfect!! So cute and rustic feeling inside (Even with the TV and mini-fridge/microwave) but also close to the bathrooms so no worries on that. Yes there is a train that runs through during the day and nighttime, but we found it very interesting to see it go by and we slept through most of them at night, as most of the other guests seemed to be doing; I heard no complaints from anyone. The arcade has some very nice games and I saw in the office they have basket balls, horse shoes, and corn hole for people to borrow whenever they want (how cute is that), and a very, very nice new playground with a sectioned off private grilling area. Discount tickets for Williamsburg and Busch Gardens are available as well!!! There was even a student masseuse giving free massages to other guests while we were here. What else could you ask for? This place seems to have everything. We will definitely be back!"  

​June 19, 2018 - www.google.com - Otniel Z.
-5 out of 5 stars
"What a great experience! We stayed here for one night and it was the best time we've had. They offer top notch customer service, actually, they treat you like family! The amenities were immaculate, the cabins perfectly sized and stocked. They have a small dog park, and an outstanding playground for kids. Did I mention my kids loved this place yet? They keep asking me when are we going to return. I recommend this place to friends, family and acquaintances!"​

June 13, 2018 - www.tripadvisor.com - “Great Campground, Friendly Staff, Close to everything”
-5 out of 5 stars
"This was our first ever RV camping trip. By chance happened to pick this campground from the internet...VERY GLAD WE DID! This was the shakedown weekend for a new RV. The site was very clean. The staff was very helpful and eager to help us with newbie RV questions. It is located close to Colonial Williamsburg, and many other attractions. Cant wait to take our kids and grandkids there. Definitely recommend the campground!”

March 13, 2018 - www.facebook.com - John R.
-5 out of 5 stars
"I stayed at Anvil from Feb. 27 to March 5. I made my decision to reserve space based on prior online comments. I can now lend my favorable opinion to the dozens of others. The campground is one of the best I’ve stayed at. Services are excellent (water, electric, sewer), bathrooms are very upscale; staff will address your every need. This is a private campground...if you’re coming to this part of Virginia to absorb the wonderful cultural heritage of Williamsburg, Jamestown and Yorktown this is an excellent RV campground. But, make your reservation early."
Archived Reviews:
2019 - 2018 - 2017 - 2016 - 2015 - 2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009 - 2008 - 2007 - 2005 - 2002
2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, & 2013 winner of the TripAdvisor's "Certificate of Excellence"
ranking us in the top 10% of all businesses, not just campgrounds!
We are one of the highest rated parks in the country and 
a first-class campground that prides ourselves on being the best. 
(757) 565-2300 / 5243 Mooretown Road Williamsburg, Virginia 23188 / info@anvilcampground.com
ReviewsHomeReservationsWhat's Fun & Relaxing?EventsCabins & CottagesShuttle Services
Photos & AmenitiesRatesSite MapIn The NewsDiscount TicketsCoupons

Fall into Fall Sale - 20% your entire stay!
Can also be combined with our weekly special - week stays save over 34%!
Valid for new Campsite or Rental reservations only.
Valid for nights of September 5 to September 30, 2019.
Must mention the "Fall into Fall Sale" at time of booking.